#### **County Roscommon Local Electoral Area 2018**

## **Overview of present position:**

Local Electoral Area	Number of members
Boyle	6
Roscommon	6
Athlone	6
Total	18

Having regard to the requirement as set out in the terms of reference for "no change in the total membership of each local authority" Roscommon is to have 18 members. The terms of reference states "a local election area shall not be less than 5 and more than 7 provided that in particularly compelling circumstances 3 or 4 seat local electoral areas may be recommended, where otherwise the geographic size of the area would be disproportionately large.

Based on 18 councillors and a population of 64,544, the population per member in County Roscommon is 3,586. The terms of reference provide that the variance in representation of each local electoral area, be within a range of +/- 10%. For County Roscommon, this represents a range of 3,227 to 3,944.

### **Recommendations for new Electoral Areas:**

This recommendation contains a proposal for four local electoral areas in county Roscommon to be named Athlone containing 5 Seats, Roscommon containing 5 Seats, Castlerea containing 4 Seats and Boyle containing 4 Seats. The configuration of the four proposed local electoral areas recognises the positioning of the main urban centre within the county.

The county town of Roscommon and its hinterland is incorporated into the new Roscommon Area. This area would also incorporate the town of Strokestown at its most northerly point.

Monskland is the largest urban centre in the proposed Athlone electoral area in the southern end of the county.

The electoral area in the north of the county is centred around the urban centre of Boyle.

Castlerea in the west of the county is the main urban centre for the new Castlerea electoral area which also incorporates the town of Ballaghaderreen in the northwest of the new Castlerea electoral area.

#### A summary of recommendations is contained in the table below:

Local Electoral Areas	Number of members	Population	Population per member of total Population	Population per member based on new area	Percentage variance from county average +/-
Athlone	5	17800	3586	3560	-0.72%
Boyle	4	14270	3586	3568	-0.50%
Castlerea	4	14334	3586	3584	-0.055%
Roscommon	5	18140	3586	3628	+1.17%
Total	18	64544			

#### Detailed description of each new recommended area:

The following is a detailed description setting out the electoral divisions that comprise each recommended local electoral area:

#### Athlone:

Athlone West Rural, Ballydangan, Ballynamona, Caltragh, Carnagh, Carrowreagh, Castlesampson, Cloonburren, Cloonown, Crannagh, Creagh Culliagh, Drumlosh, Dysart, Kilcar, Kiltoom, Lackan, Lecarrow, Lismaha, Moore, Rockhill, Scregg, Taghboy, Taghmaconnell, Thomastown and Turrock.

#### Boyle:

Aghafin, Altagowlan, Aughrim East, Aughrim West, Ballyfarnan, Ballyformoyle, Ballygarden, , Boyle Rural, Boyle Urban, Bumlin, Cloonteen, Creeve, Cregga, Croghan, Crossna, Danesfort, Elia, Elphin, Estersnow, Keadew, Kilbryan, Kilcolagh, Kilglass North, Kilglass South, Killukin, Killummod, Kilmacumsy, Kilmore, Lough Allen, Lisgarve, Oakport, Rockingham, Roosky, Rossmore, Rushfield, Termonbarry, Tivannagh, Tumna North and Tumna South.

#### **Roscommon:**

Athleague East, Athleague West, Annaghmore, Dunamon, Fuerty, Rosmoylan, Cloonyquin, Ogulla, Tulsk, Cams, Carrowduff, Castleplunket, Castleteheen, Cloonfinlough, Cloontuskert, Cloonygormican, Drumdaff, Kilbride North, Kilbride South, Kilgefin, Killavackan, Killukin, Kilteevan, Lissonuffy, , Mote, Roscommon Rural, Roscommon Urban and Strokestown.

#### Castlerea:

Artagh North, Artagh South, Ballinlough, Ballintober, Baslick Ballaghaderreen, Bellanagare, Breedoge, Buckill, Castlereagh, Cloonfower, Coolougher, Edmondstown, Frenchpark, Fairymount, Kiltullagh, Loughglinn, Mantua

#### Justification for 4 Seat electoral area in county Roscommon

This document proposed that two 4 seat electoral areas and two 5 seat electoral areas be created in the county thus reducing the spread and length of the current electoral areas. The current Roscommon area which runs from Cloonfad at its most westerly point on the Mayo / Galway border to the Termonbarry at its most easterly point on the Longford border is a distance of 42miles. The travel distance from Arigna at the most northerly point to Carracastle at the most westerly point of the current Boyle area is approximately 36 miles. The new areas of Castlerea, Boyle and Roscommon as per the attached map reduce by over a half the geographic spread in miles from one side of the area to the other. The new areas are more geographically compact compared to the existing area which cover a vast geographic spread

# **Map of New Local Electoral Area:**

